Ridding the world of cows and sheep one journal at a time…

2 Jul

Today is my first day as a self employed artist and it feels both very odd and very natural. I was able to stay up late, sleep in a little and spend the day doing what I love. Its a crazy concept but only in the fact that I think it’s crazy there aren’t more people out there trying to pursue this lifestyle. I guess its not for everybody though. You can’t be afraid of being dirt poor or living in constant uncertainty and the one thing  you need to be is scarily driven and I am learning that more and more each day. Of course, if I hadn’t spent the past year or so working 8 hours a day at a retail job only to come home and work 6-7 more hours on my creative work, get a little sleep, wake up and do it all over again I probably wouldn’t have ever reached this point.  And now that I am here I am not about the look back… well, except to thank the heavens that I survived.

The business side of this is still a little on the overwhelming side but I took enough business courses in my lengthy college career where I should hopefully figure out how to go about things. Last week I applied for and received my tax ID number which allows me to sell at shows all over the country! Who would think that I would ever get overjoyed about something regarding taxes… but you have to admit, the idea of it is pretty exciting. Maybe…

The following months are going to be insane to say the least. Early next week I am heading to the northshore for a few days to collect “sea” glass, drift wood, agates and take as many photos as my camera will allow. I also hope to find time to just relax and reflect on life in general… that’s what Palisade Head is for I guess. Then upon my return it will be time to really get to work on creating journals, jewelry and wood panel photo transfers in preparation for the Bayfront Art Festival up in Duluth at the end of August.

I’m also in the marker for an old bus or motor home to travel/ live in. So if you know about one for sale hit me up!

And the sands will roll out a carpet of gold
For your weary toes to be a touchin’
And the ship’s wise men will remind you once again
That the whole wide world is watchin’!
Of the foes will rise with the sleep still in their eyes
And they’ll jerk from their beds and think they’re dreamin’
But they’ll pinch themselves and squeal
And they’ll know that it’s for real
The hour that the ship comes in.

-Peter, Paul and Mary

One Response to “Ridding the world of cows and sheep one journal at a time…”

  1. Meghan July 6, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    Nicole,
    Driving back to NE Wisconsin this weekend, we saw an awesome, old, yellow VW van, with curtains on the back windows… Probably gets horrible gas mileage, but I thought of you. 🙂 If it had a For Sale sign in the window, I would have taken a picture, but it wasn’t… Good luck in the hunt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

